child facebook instagram tag twitter youtube heart search search white cart cart white arror_right pinterest lock delivery badge present bulb contact paper newsletter user giftreturn videocall License

Unbound

Unbound: Des vêtements de vélo pour combattre la chaleur

Considérée comme le plus grand événement cycliste gravel au monde, la course Garmin Unbound Gravel attire chaque année quelque 4000 coureurs du monde entier, un melting-pot de pros et d’anciens pros, des amateurs puissants et des personnages hors normes, tous cherchant à se tester (et leurs pneus) contre les impitoyables Flint Hills du Kansas.

Au milieu de nul part

Située autour de la ville d’Emporia, à 3 heures de route du centre géographique des États-Unis (excepté Hawaï et l’Alaska), l’édition 2021 de Unbound marque la seizième fois que cet événement de grande envergure a frappé les Flint Hills. Peu de gens le savant.

 

Tout-terrain, gravel, bikepacking – appelez ça comme vous voulez, mais rouler sur des vélos de route modifiés tout-terrain n’était pas une catégorie reconnue au début. Pourtant, de nombreux cyclistes tournaient néanmoins leurs roues hors route, imitant les premiers jours du Tour de France dans la tradition des randonnées, à laquelle des événements comme Unbound doivent une grande partie de leur popularité, mais sans les sacoches et les cartes brevet (Brevet Card).

200 c’est beaucoup

De tous les événements proposés sur Unbound, le 200 est le plus disputé (les participants du XL, une course monstrueuse de 357 miles, pourraient bien ne pas être d’accord), avec une sérieuse rapidité, une préparation méticuleuse et une bonne dose de chance à l’ordre du jour pour tout cycliste cherchant à bien se placer ou même à terminer le parcours d’une seule traite. Et cette année, nos amis et partenaires d’Above Category et Enve étaient là, faisant équipe dans un assaut collaboratif sur le classement, mené par Brennan Wertz d’AC.

 

Pour une première fois sur Unbound, Brennan est passé au vélo après avoir ramé pour l’Université de Stanford dans une carrière qui l’a vu remporter le bronze aux Championnats du monde d’aviron des moins de 23 ans de 2016 à Rotterdam. Échanger l’eau contre des roues ne l’a certainement pas ralenti, comme l’attestent ses résultats croissants sur route et gravel et ses performances exceptionnelles sur Unbound.

Kit Fit pour le Flint

Pour toute personne intéressée par la préparation et la course Unbound, la revue d’Above Category contient de nombreuses informations utiles, y compris des belles photos d’un Mosaic GT-1 spécialement conçu pour la course. Et sur le site d’Enve, vous découvrirez en détail le processus de conception et de développement des vêtements cyclistes de l’équipe, que nous avons eu le plaisir de créer pour la course dans le cadre de notre programme Custom Equipment.

 

Avec son design simple avec logo, son coloris blanc résistant à la chaleur et ses empreintes orange, le maillot AC x Enve tire parti de notre silhouette R2. Non seulement il est léger, mais grâce aux tissus avancés et stratégiquement placés de notre coupe R2, il est également incroyablement respirant et s’adapte parfaitement. En d’autres termes, c’est le maillot de vélo parfait pour Unbound.

Pour le cuissard à bretelles assorti, Brennan et son équipe sont tombés amoureux du confort longue distance offert par l’insert chamois du cuissard Unique et de la sensation du Gregarius Ultra. Nous avons donc combiné les deux, créant un cuissard à bretelles qui a non seulement accompagné l’équipe confortablement jusqu’à la fin de la course et a aidé Brennan à obtenir une dixième place bien méritée, un résultat incroyable pour une première participation à Unbound.

Putting the Power Down

S’il y a une règle d’or pour rouler, c’est de ne rien changer avant un grand événement. Mais certaines règles sont censées être enfreintes, c’est pourquoi, seulement une semaine avant Unbound, Brennan a troqué ses vieilles chaussures contre nos nouvelles chaussures Unique Adventure.

 

« Je suis généralement extrêmement paranoïaque à propos de tout ce qui concerne les crampons et les chaussures », a-t-il déclaré, en téléphonant quelques jours après la course pour donner son avis sur ses nouvelles chaussures. « Mais une fois que les chaussures Unique Adventure sont arrivées à Above Category et que j’ai eu la chance de les essayer, je me suis senti si bien si rapidement que j’ai décidé d’ignorer la prudence et de faire le changement. »

Les chaussettes de cyclisme sont tout aussi importantes mais souvent ignorées. Elles pourraient ne pas faire la une des journaux, mais, choisissez la mauvaise paire et vos pieds peuvent en souffrir, surtout dans le feu de la compétition. Sur Unbound, Brennan a associé ses chaussures Unique Adventure à nos chaussettes Ultra Longs sans couture, ultra-fines et incroyablement douces, pour créer l’association parfaite pour un été de courses de gravel au rythme effréné.

child facebook instagram tag twitter youtube heart search search white cart cart white arror_right pinterest lock delivery badge present bulb contact paper newsletter user giftreturn videocall License

Unbound

Unbound: Bike Clothing to Beat the Heat

Styled as the world’s greatest gravel cycling event, the Garmin Unbound Gravel race attracts some 4000 riders from across the globe each year, a melting pot of pros and ex-pros, fast amateurs and outsize characters alike, all seeking to test themselves (and their tyres) against the unforgiving Flint Hills of Kansas.

The Middle of Somewhere

Based around the town of Emporia, a 3-hour drive to the geographic centre of the United States (if you exclude Hawaii and Alaska), the 2021 edition of Unbound marks the sixteenth time this super-size event has hit the flint. Not that many people would know it.

 

All-road, gravel, bikepacking – call it what you will, but riding modified road bikes off-road wasn’t a recognised category in the early aughts. Still, many cyclists were pointing their wheels off-road nonetheless, emulating the early days of the Tour de France in the randonneuring tradition, to which events like Unbound owe a large part of their popularity, albeit without the panniers and brevet cards.

200 is Plenty

Of all the events on offer at Unbound, the 200 is the most hotly contested (participants of the XL, a 357-mile monster may well disagree), with serious speed, meticulous preparation and a bunch of luck the order of the day for any rider looking to place well or even complete the course in one piece. And this year, our friends and partners at Above Category and Enve were there, teaming up in a collaborative assault on the leaderboard, spearheaded by AC’s hard-charging Brennan Wertz.

 

A first-time racer at Unbound, Brennan made the switch to bikes after rowing for Stanford University in a career that saw him take bronze at 2016’s Under 23 World Rowing Championships in Rotterdam. Trading the water for wheels certainly didn’t slow him down, as his growing top-tier road and gravel palmares and stand-out performance at Unbound attest.

Kit Fit for the Flint

For anyone interested in preparing for and racing Unbound, Above Category’s journal has lots of helpful information, including some beautiful pictures of a very special Mosaic GT–1 made especially for the race. And over on Enve’s site, you’ll find an in-depth look at the design and development process of the team’s cycling clothing, which we had the pleasure of creating for the race as part of our Custom Equipment program.

 

With its simple, logo-led design, heat-beating white colourway and orange accents, the AC x Enve jersey takes advantage of our proven R2 silhouette. Not only is it featherlight, but thanks to R2’s advanced, strategically-placed fabrics, it’s also incredibly breathable and fits like a dream. In other words, it’s the perfect bike jersey for Unbound.

For the matching bib shorts, Brennan and crew fell in love with the long-distance comfort provided by the Unique Bib’s chamois and the feel of the Gregarius Ultra’s body. So we combined the two, creating somewhat of a hot-rod bib short that carried the team in comfort to the end of the race and Brennan to a deserved tenth place, an incredible result for a first time Unbound entrant.

Putting the Power Down

If there is a golden rule of riding, it’s don’t change anything before a big event. But some rules are meant to be broken, which is why, with only a week to go before Unbound, Brennan traded his old footwear for our new Unique Adventure shoes.

 

“I’m usually extremely paranoid about all things cleat and shoe,” he said, phoning in a few days after the race to give his feedback on his new footwear. “But once the Adventure Shoes arrived at Above Category and I had a chance to try them on, they felt so good so quickly that I decided to throw caution to the wind and make the switch.”

 

And it wasn’t long Brennan had a chance to use the shoes in anger, lining up for a pre-Unbound tune-up at The Huffmaster Hopper gravel race in Northern California, where he placed 4th on a fast 89-mile course, proving that his new Unique Adventure shoes delivered speed as well as comfort.

Fast forward a week and some 200 miles of shoulder to shoulder racing through the dust and heat of Unbound, and Brennan’s shoes got another chance to prove themselves, this time with a brutal sprint to the finish line to secure his tenth position. “It was only after the race that I realised I’d set a new power record for 2021 on that sprint!” he said, laughing at the memory. “I’d dropped back a few wheel lengths behind the other rider to tighten up the BOAs – I often tweak my tension as temperatures change and the Uniques make fine adjustment super reliable – and as soon as it felt right, I pressed for home and the shoes delivered in spades. The sole is so perfect for big power efforts and the sort of hike-a-bike that you get when gravel riding that I can’t imagine a better platform for a race like Unbound.”

 

Equally important but often unmentioned are cycling socks. They might not be headline-worthy, but pick the wrong pair, and your feet can suffer, especially in the heat of competition. At Unbound, Brennan matched his Unique Adventure Shoes with our seamless, ultra-fine and incredibly soft Ultra Longs to create the perfect pairing for a summer of fast-paced gravel racing.